2019 AREAs Announced

2019 Australian Rural Education Awards

Congratulations to all our 2019 Area winners, presented at the 2019 SPERA conference in Brisbane on 3 October 2019!

Country University Centres

The Country Universities Centre is a community owned network of regional study hubs, designed to increase access and success in higher education for regional students. The CUC centres offer campus-like facilities free of charge to any student studying at any Australian university.

Annette Morphett: Mathematics teaching and learning in middle primary schools in Yorke Peninsular

Anne’s PhD research focus centres around the mathematics teaching and learning in middle primary classrooms on Yorke Peninsula in South Australia; a context rich in diverse landscape, economies, and people, and a context where the unique identity of its people create a spirit of community of which they are very proud.

Uni4You Project, Family Action Centre, The University of Newcastle

The University of Newcastle’s (UON) Uni4You Project innovative practices are increasing the higher education engagement rate of adults in Muswellbrook.

Aboriginal Pathway Program (APP), University of South Australia

The Aboriginal Pathway Program (APP) is an open-access, fee-free enabling program connecting regional and remote students to university. For Aboriginal students studying in areas including Ceduna, Mount Gambier, Port Lincoln, Whyalla and as far afield as the APY lands and Yalata, the APP is designed to build the skills and confidence to successfully transition into undergraduate study whilst remaining within the support structures of their local communities.

ASPIRE, University of New South Wales

ASPIRE is an outreach program working in communities where the number of school students who go on to university is low. Our aim is to help students in our partner schools discover that there are more options available to them when they leave school than they thought. Going to university could be one of them.

School of Education: University of the Sunshine Coast

Through key rural and remote initiatives, the University of the Sunshine Coast (School of Education) has shown continued commitment to support and inspire the next generation of rural and remote teachers. The ‘Outback Advantage’, ‘Tim Fairfax Family Foundation Bursary’ and the ‘Coast to Country’ are a suite of initiatives built on the foundations of strong partnerships and research.

UniPrep Schools, Academic Pathway Programs, Edith Cowan University

ECU UniPrep Schools is an innovative tertiary enabling program delivered in years 11 and 12 at partner schools. Successful completion of the program allows students entrance into a wide range of University courses.


President’s Awards
Congratulations also to our 2019 President awardees:

Dr Jayne Downey, Montana State University
Professor Simone White, Queensland University of Technology
Ian McIntosh, Junior Writers Club
Taj Pabari FiftySix Creations